joaquin phoenix on hiphop

februari 13, 2009

joaquin phoenix on hiphop:

Actually the thing is, I don’t think there’s many people my age that didn’t grow up listening to hip-hop, it kind of was like, when I was 15, 16 that was it for me. I loved hip hop. The first stuff I heard was Public Enemy, and I couldn’t believe it, it was amazing, and I’ve always loved hip hop. I’m not that familiar with some new stuff, I couldn’t believe some of the difference. You know what’s amazing also is the mastering that they do know. I put on some… I was listening to ”Juicy,” right, B.I.G’s ”Juicy” and I remember when that showed up and it was like, it seemed like that was the most crisp pop sound, when it came out. [There] was a real kind of like underground New York gritty Wu-Tang kind of sound, and then there came like this really pop sound. And then I put on like TI and Young Jeezy and shit, and then I went back to ”Juicy,” I couldn’t believe the difference, its unbelievable the production now. It’s overproduced absolutely.

Kommentera

